Orange PAYG UK Top-Up Numbers

Orange LogoTop-Up

Dial 450 to top up using a credit or debit card.

Balance

Dial 453 to find your ballance.

Commentary

I find it strangely amusing that the automated top-up service behaves so mechanically, but has been engineered with such human intonation. It seems incongruous. I always  imagine the actress reading off a crib-sheet and pretending to take payments and so on.  As I rummage (one-handed) through my wallet, looking for my debit card, I wonder how many takes it took her to get it just right? It is at this point I nearly drop my wallet trying to get the right card out. Did they audition for the voice talent? It doesn’t help that my mobile is touch screen, so I need to look at the phone to press the numbers, which means I don’t always catch what the actress wants me to do next. As I hold wallet and phone in one hand and hold the card and dial with the other, I imagine the actress miming her way through her little speech.

I’ll just put that through for you

Tip

Have your credit card ready before you dial.

Leave a Reply

