Deciding what to Keep

How do you decide what to keep when you are having a sort-out?

Sometimes, it is difficult to decide what to keep and what to throw away. Personally, I tend to be something of a hoarder. Here are some of the excuses that I have used for keeping things unneccesarily:

  • It was so expensive!
  • I am sentimentally attachment to it.
  • It was a present.
  • Someone will be upset if I get rid of it.
  • My children will eventually want it.
  • It is an heirloom!
  • It’ll be worth so much money some day!
  • It might come in handy one day.

Perhaps the best way to decide what to keep is first to decide what your goals are. Once you have done so, you know you need to keep anything that is required for you to:

  1. maintain day-to-day living
  2. achieve your goals

Everthing else is unnecassary, so should be gotten rid of.

Of course, there are exceptions to every rule. If something really is likely to increase in value over the next few years then you might be daft to let it go. Similarly, if you are really attatched to something, you might consider keeping it. All things considered, however, these should be extreme exceptions and not the rule.

Perhaps, one day, I will start to follow my own advice.

One Response to Deciding what to Keep

  1. Ed says:

    more great tips. I wish I could keep them too. I guess having only 1 room in which to store things could be an advantage some times – at least I can’t use up a whole house!

Leave a Reply

