What Was That?

A dialog:

“What was that?”
“What was what?”
“That.”
“That what?”
“That noise.”
“What noise?”
“That noise back there.”
“Back where?”
“Where the noise was!”
“What do you think it was?”
“Would I be asking if I knew?”
“I don’t know, would you?”
“Why would l do that?”
“You always do things like what”
“Like what?”
“You know what! You just pretend you don ‘t.”
“I don’t know what you mean.”
“There you go again! Pretending you don’t know something just to make me look stupid!”
“How can that possibly make sense?”
“Whenever you ask me something it isn’t because you don’t know: it’s because you do know, but you want me to say that I don’t know.”
“You really think… Wait! There it was again!”
“What?”

Leave a Reply

