Poem: Ode to The Ground

I make no request,
But the ground-
It offers me the support
I crave.
Through the soles of my feet
I sense it’s solidity
And it’s mature strength,
Unlike the shoulder of a friend
It will never let me down
But will hold me up
And make me strong.
It will not let me just slip
Through and fade away –
It gives me a sense of reality
And in turn I establish that
The ground is also real.
That frightens me though,
Because it is also a prison wall
That can never let me escape
Into another world
Where I might otherwise chose
To be

Leave a Reply

