IT Service Improvement: The Help Desk

Like most people who are committed to providing a service to their customers, I have many ideas about how the service could be improved.

TheHelp Desk is a key area for an IT service that is often neglected.

The industry is plagued by poor relationships between service providers and customers. As service providers, we have little understanding of our customer’s current business, aspirations and difficulties. The Help Desk provides one of the few effective channels of communication with our clients. As such, its importance should not be underestimated.

The Help Desk provides a unique opportunity for us to understand:

  1. where our systems are faulty,
  2. where we are failing to provide quality service,
  3. our customers need training and support,
  4. where our customers are unaware of the offerings,
  5. who our customers really are, ie. the organisation’s key information workers.

It would be useful to enquire of Help Desk staff /  logs:

  1. What kinds of problems cause the users most inconvenience?
  2. What kinds of problems occur most frequently?
  3. What do users want us to do to improve our offering?
  4. Which groups of users call us most often?
  5. Are there some kinds of calls that are really difficult to deal with?
  6. What else could we do to serve our customers more effectively?

We can then use this information to empower the rest of the department to:

  1. Serve customer’s needs more effectively,
  2. Change the nature of work for Help Desk staff from the “same old thing” to  more interesting problem solving tasks.

One suggestion is to establish a Wiki where Help Desk operatives, customers and other IT people could collaborate to post answers to FAQs.

Well, I can dream, can’t I?

5 Responses to IT Service Improvement: The Help Desk

  1. nikon d7000 says:

    nikon d7000…

    […]IT Service Improvement: The Help Desk « All Wrong[…]…

  2. Do you have any video of that? I’d care to find out some additional information.

  3. Heya! I understand this is kind of off-topic however I
    had to ask. Does managing a well-established website like yours take a lot of work?
    I am completely new to operating a blog but I do write in my journal everyday.
    I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my personal experience and feelings online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of suggestions or tips for new aspiring bloggers.
    Appreciate it!

  4. jazz music says:

    Good day! I could have sworn I’ve visited this blog
    before but after browsing through some of the posts I realized it’s new to me.

    Anyways, I’m definitely pleased I stumbled upon it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back often!

  5. I think everything posted was very reasonable.
    But, what aboit this? suppose you added a little information? I ain’t sayig your content iis
    not solid, but what if you added a post title to possibly grab a
    person’s attention? I mean IT Service Improvement: The Help Dessk | All
    Wrong is a little boring. You might peek at Yahoo’s home page and watch how they create article headlines to get vieers to click.
    You might try adding a video or a related pic or two tto
    grab people exciited about what you’ve written. In my opinion, it
    might make your blog a little bit more interesting.

Leave a Reply

