Requirements of Community

This post has been migrated to Marks in the Sand.

3 Responses to Requirements of Community

  1. Good post. I like it.

    Although I agree with your requirements, I am not sure that “growth” is a requirement. A community can be as little as 2 people and may remain that way for as long as the goal isn’t achieve.

    Have you studied communities in a business-context?

  2. kramii says:

    Martin,

    Thanks very much for your comment – it means a lot to me that you have taken the trouble to read my ramblings, to consider them and then to share your thoughts.

    You make an interesting point about growth. When I wrote this article, I had in mind a sustainable community, rather than a temoporary one. My thought was tha all communities loose people – through people dying off if for no other reason – so all communities naturally shrink unless they recruit new people. You’re right, however, that a community can come to an end before this is ever an issue – because its purpose is accomplished, for example.

    I have not really studied communities in any context – business or otherwise – but just made a few casual observations on the world.

    I’d be interested to know if there is anything I should have added to my list?

  3. humor site says:

    Hola.
    I like your blogpost. It is very interesting to read.
    I am curious why I didn’t find this blog earlier.
    Sharing is a virtue, and more people need to read this blogpost.
    I will surely spread the word. Many of my Facebook friends will like it.

    Cheers and keep’em coming!

Leave a Reply

