It is Finished!

Lamb in the LaundryLast night J (my 2.5 year old son) and I finished reading the last chapter of his first chapter book, “The Lamb in the Laundry” by Lucy Daniels. The book has 13 chapters of solid text with only a few monochrome sketches: not much to capture a small child’s imagination, but J appeared to enjoy it. He usually asked for more when we came to the end of an evening’s reading.

We also finished reading the last chapter of his first Bible, a “Lion First Bible” by Pat Alexander. (J. was given this Bible on his dedication, which also coincided with his 1st birthday, but we didn’t start reading it until late last year). Because we read the New Testament first, we finished the Old Testament yesterday with Isaiah’s prophecy of the coming king. Tonight, we’ll start with the New Testament again.

I found the “Lion First Bible” to be an excellent summary for children. In particular, it provides a very good overview of the key events in history. I must admit, I learned a thing or two myself!

3 Responses to It is Finished!

  1. mr.Open says:

    mr.Open

    In few years we will see a result

  2. kramii says:

    mr.Open:

    I am sure that we will. Thanks for the encouragement.

  3. […] is Finished: Again Last February I wrote that I had managed to read whole of the Bible to my son, J.There are 64 chapters in his […]

Leave a Reply

