WIFI Connection Problem Solved: HTC TYTN and Belkin Wireless-G Router

thn1001_f5d7632uk4.gifI have just finished configuring setting up my home wireless network. I thought it might be useful to document the solution to the problems I encountered in case anyone else expiriences similar issues.

One of my tasks was to configure my Orange M3100 (a rebranded HTC TYTN, a Windows Mobile 5 Smartphone) to talk wirelessly to my Belkin ADSL Modem with Wireless-G Router (Model FD7632uk4 Version 1 Annex A). Everything worked fine when I left the connection open, but as soon as I switched on WPA/PSK encryption, I had problems. My Desktop PC’s wireless connection to work without issue, but the M3100 would no longer connect at all.

Some sites suggested that some HTC devices requires SSID boradcast, so I left this enabled on the router. Unfortunately, this did not improve matters for me.

I decided to upload the latest firmware onto the router. Loading the new firmware was very easy, and when the router restarted, the M3100 worked! Unfortunatley, the wireless connection became unreliable to both my desktop machine and to my M3100.

Finally, I restored the router’s factory defaults and manually re-entering all the settings. Since then, both my desktop PC and my M3100 have connected reliably.

If this helped you, please let me know. Any other questions / comments are welcome.

10 Responses to WIFI Connection Problem Solved: HTC TYTN and Belkin Wireless-G Router

  1. Bill Compton says:

    Hi Jim. Photos i received. Thanks

  2. kramii says:

    Bill Compton:

    I am pleased that you received the photos OK. I hope you enjoy them. I’d love to hear what you think of them: you’re welcome to post your thought on the photos here if you want to.

    BTW: Who is Jim? Why did he send you photos? What are they of?

    Don’t let the fact that you sent your thanks to the wrong person put you off telling us more!

    But first, please let the *real* Jim know that you got the photos. I’m sure he’ll be delighted.

  3. kramii says:

    *** Update ***

    Aparently, the router is still not quite stable.

    A couple of days ago, my desktop machine stopped picking up an IP address from the router yesterday (it is configured to use the router as a DHCP server). My M3100 still worked, so I spent nearly an hour twiddling settings on the PC and restarting it. Still no IP address.

    Finally, cycling power to the router solved the problem. Since then, it has been behaving again.

    Whilst this is not ideal, I guess I can live with having to perform the occasional reset on the router.

  4. Prashant says:

    Hi
    I want your help
    i am having HTC TYTN II cell and want to access internet with it
    i am having a BSNL networking WI-FI modem.
    i want to connect HTC with it how could i do that PLease guide

  5. kramii says:

    Prashant:

    I am sorry to hear that you are havning trouble. Unfortunately, I don’t run a support service. If you have a specific problem, I might be able to help. Otherwise, I suggest Google. Best of luck.

  6. Amin Mithwani says:

    I have just purchased Belkin N1 Router and its connects fine with my Laptop I also have HTC P3300 and I have been trying for the last 2 days to connect my htc phone using wifi connection but no luck.. can you help resolve this problem.
    Thanks

    Amin

  7. Berylia says:

    I had the same problem. Could connect with my Iphone4, Sony Xperia and my Playstation3 but not with the HTC Desire nor with the HTC Desire HD.

    Solution: change the wireless mode in your router.
    Access the router by typing the standard gateway address in your webbrowser.
    Go to the section wireless.
    Change the wireless mode to : ONLY 802.11g. If your router uses this mode, only 802.11n- en 802.11g- devices can make part of the network.
    Note that slower 802.11b-devices will not be accepted.
    This worked fine for me

  8. online Electronic shopping…

    [...]WIFI Connection Problem Solved: HTC TYTN and Belkin Wireless-G Router « All Wrong[...]…

  9. router wifi 3g…

    [...]WIFI Connection Problem Solved: HTC TYTN and Belkin Wireless-G Router « All Wrong[...]…

  10. Irvin says:

    It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.

    I’ve read this post and if I could I want to suggest you few interesting things or tips. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article. I want to read even more things about it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

