Repayed a Mortgage? Reclaim the Fees!

Like a lot of people, I have remortgaged in the last 18 months. When I paid off the old Abbey mortgage I was charged a mortgage exit administration fee (MEAF) that was somewhat more than my contract stated. In January the FSA announced if “past customers have paid a higher fee they can expect a refund of the difference”. It took just a couple of hours to write a letter to the Abbey (I am a slow writer), and a couple more to write the same information all over again on the official complaint form that Abbey sent in response to my first letter.

In response I have received a cheque for £162, the difference between my contracted MEAF and the MEAF I was eventually charged.

MoneySavingExpert has the low down on the whole process if you want to know more.

One Response to Repayed a Mortgage? Reclaim the Fees!

  1. [...] MEAF reclaim against Abbey (May [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

